List of Alternative Names of Ahom Kings - History of Ahom Kingdom

Assam History GK - Ahom Kings and Their Alternative Names List  

Hello, aspirants are you preparing for APSC or any other Assam Govt Exams 2021? If yes, then you must be aware of the most important Assam History GK for APSC Prelims. Therefore every aspirants need to know the Ahom History GK questions and answers for APSC and any other Assam govt exams 2021. In this regard "World_Polity" decides to provide you the most important Assam History GK quiz the list of alternative names of Ahom Kings, their ruling period and their capital cities for the upcoming exams. Infact the Ahom History GK will be a key topic in the Assam GK section for the upcoming APSC Prelims & any other Assam Govt Exams 2021. So the list of Ahom Kings with their alternative names for the upcoming exams will be a pedestrian to crack your exam.

List of Alternative Names of Ahom Kings - History of Ahom Kingdom

Alternative Names of Ahom Kings

Assam History GK - Ahom Kings and their Alternative Names

In this article we have provided you the most important Assam History GK Quiz on Ahom Kings and their Alternative Names. So, read all these important GK on Assam History for Competitive Exams. These Assam History GK Quiz are extremely important and should be a part of your preparation. Infact the Ahom Kings and their alternative names is very important for any Assam govt exams of 2021.

Ahom dynasty GK-Ahom Kings and Their Alternative Names List

In order to succeed in the prestigious competitive examination, it is important that the aspirant has access to the Assam History GK Questions and Answers. Specially the toppers of APSC or other Assam govt exams recommend that aspirant start their preparation with the Assam GK topics such as Assam History questions and answers on Ahom Kings and their alternative names list for the upcoming exams.

History of Ahom Kingdom

In the history of Ahom Kingdom, the Ahom dynasty ruled Assam and parts of North East India for nearly 598 years from 1228 to1826. The dynasty was established by Sukaphaa, a Shan prince of Mong Mao who came to Assam after crossing the Patkai mountains.

Sukapha was the great leader of the Ahoms. He reached Brahmaputra valley in Assam from upper Burma in the 13th century with around 9,000 followers,” said Arup Kumar Dutta, author of the book "The Ahoms". It was in Charaideo that Sukapha established his first small principality, showing the seeds of further expansion of the Ahom kingdom. In 1253, he established his capital at Charaidau, Assam.

The Kings of this Ahom Dynasty were called Asam Raja, whereas the subjects of the kingdom called them Chaopha, or Swargadeo (in Assamese).

In the nearly 598 years there were at least 41 Kings in the Ahom Kingdom beginning with Sukaphaa in 1228 and ending with Purandar Singha in 1838.

The name ‘Aham’ or ‘Asom’ was probably given by the Ahoms who came to Assam in 1228 A.D. Even though the origin is ambiguous but it is believed that the modern name Assam is itself an anglicization.

The rule of this dynasty ended with the Burmese invasion of Assam and the subsequent annexation by the British East India Company following the Treaty of Yandaboo in 1826. The British emperor took charge of the state and thus begun the colonial era of Assam.

List of Alternative Names of Ahom Kings

Well here are the most important list of alternative names of Ahom Kings, their ruling period & their capitals. Read all these important Assam History GK quiz on Ahom Kingdom in order to answer the questions :  

1. Sudangpha 

• Period : 1397–1407
• Capital : Charagua
• Alternative Name : Bamuni Kunwar

2. Suhungmung

• Period : 1497–1539
• Capital : Bakata
• Alternative Name : Swarganarayan, Dihingia Roja I

3. Suklenmung

• Period : 1539–1552
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Garhgayan Roja

4. Sukhampha

• Period : 1552–1603
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Khora Roja

5. Susenghpha

• Period : 1603–1641
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Pratap Singha, Burha Roja, Buddhiswarganarayan

* Must visit : National Parks in Assam 2021 for APSC

* Must visit : Assam History important dates and events

6. Surampha

• Period : 1641–1644
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Jayaditya Singha, Bhoga Roja

7. Sutingpha

• Period : 1644–1648
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Noriya Roja

8. Sutamla

• Period : 1648–1663
• Capital : Garhgaon & Bakata
• Alternative Name : Jayadhwaj Singha, Bhoganiya Roja

9. Supangmung

• Period : 1663–1670
• Capital : Bakata/Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Chakradhwaj Singha

10. Sunyatpha

• Period : 1670–1672
• Capital : Charaideo
• Alternative Name : Udayaditya Singha

11. Suklamphaa

• Period : 1672–1674
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Ramdhwaj Singha

12. Suhung

• Period : 1674–1675
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Samaguria Roja, Kamjang Konwar

13. Sujinpha

• Period : 1675–1677
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Arjun Konwar, Dihingia Roja II

14. Sudoipha

• Period : 1677–1679
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Parvatia Roja, Tej Singha

16. Sulikpha

• Period : 1679–1681
• Capital : Garhgaon
• Alternative Name : Ratnadhwaj Singha, Lora Roja

17. Supatpha

• Period : 1681–1696
• Capital : Borkola
• Alternative Name : Gadadhar Singha

18. Sukhrungpha

• Period : 1696–1714
• Capital : Rangpur
• Alternative Name : Rudra Singha

19. Sutanpha

• Period : 1714–1744
• Capital : 
• Alternative Name : Siba Singha

20. Sunenpha

• Period : 1744–1751
• Capital :
• Alternative Name : Pramatta Singha

21. Surempha

• Period : 1751–1769
• Capital :
• Alternative Name : Rajeswar Singha

22. Sunyeopha

• Period : 1769–1780
• Capital :
• Alternative Name : Lakshmi Singha

23. Suhitpangpha

• Period : 1780–1795
• Capital : Jorhat
• Alternative Name : Gaurinath Singha

24. Suklingpha

• Period : 1795–1811
• Capital : Jorhat
• Alternative Name : Kamaleswar Singha

25. Sudingpha

• Period : 1811–1818 & 1819–1821
• Capital : Jorhat
• Alternative Name : Chandrakanta Singha

Must visit : Assam History MCQ

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Ahom Dynasty :

1. Who was the founder of the Ahom Kingdom?

Ans : The 13th century ruler, Chaolung Sukaphaa is considered to be the founder of the Ahom Kingdom.

2. What was the first capital of the Ahom Kingdom? 

Ans : Charaideo

3. What was the last capital of the Ahom Kingdom?

Ans : Jorhat was the last capital of the Ahoms. 

Now World_Polity is on every platform to give you each & every update. 

• Subscribe our Youtube channel

• Join our Facebook Page

• Join our telegram Channel

* Recent Most Searches :

Decline and Fall of the Ahom Kingdom

* Current Affairs of Assam 2021 

* First in Assam First Assamese 

* Assam Government Newly Launched Schemes  

Hello if you like the article on Assam History MCQ for APSC Prelims as well as the MCQ on Assam History for Competitive Exams, do comment & show your support by sharing it to the other aspirants and if there is any query you are welcome to ask. 

Post a Comment


(Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box)