Meaning of Cyclone Tauktae : How Got its Name & Process of Naming

Cyclone Tauktae : Know the first Cyclonic Storm of 2021

Meaning of Cyclone Tauktae : How Got it Name & Process of Naming

Cyclone Tauktae, the first cyclonic storm that has hit India in 2021, has intensified into an extremely severe cyclonic storm, according to the latest update by the Indian Meteorological Department (IMD).

The storm has already claimed at least a dozen lives across the western coast of India as it moved from the Lakshadweep area to Gujarat. Combined with torrential rainfall, gale winds and lightning could pose a substantial risk to Gujarat even though the storm is expected to marginally weaken before landfall. Therefore, the national forecaster has kept the entire state of Gujarat under a ‘Red Alert’ for Monday and Tuesday, urging authorities to take action.

Meaning of Cyclone Tauktae : How Cyclone Tauktae Got its Name :

The name Tauktae has been suggested by Myanmar. The name comes from the Burmese language and it means a ‘Gecko’ or a very hitch-pitched lizard.

Who gets to Name the Cyclones? 

There is a 13 nation global panel named the World Meteorological Organisation/United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Panel on Tropical Cyclones – this world body also includes regional specialised meteorological centres as well as Tropical Cyclone Warning Centres. 

It is this body that prepares the names of the cyclones/storms around the world. The regional centres are also responsible for issuing warning/advisories in that location.

Cyclone Tauktae is the fifth name to be used from the new list and the name was suggested by Myanmar. Tauktae is the first cyclone of the year 2021 and is set to become the first Severe Cyclone to hit Gujarat in the month of May since 1976. It is likely to cross the Gujarat coast around Diu between 8 pm and 11 pm on Monday, May 17. The intensity of the storm is likely to remain ‘very severe’ with wind speeds of 155-165 kmph gusting to 185 kmph.

Is India also part of this Network? 

Yes, India along with 12 other nations are members of this panel. India’s IMD suggests names of future cyclones and also issues guidelines in case of a cyclone. 

Other nations that are part of this network include Bangladesh, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Iran, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Qatar, Thailand, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Where is the Cyclone List? 

This global network works with the regional centre to prepare a list of cyclone names. Naming the cyclones help the people to remember the incident. It also helps the authorities to disseminate correct information. The recall value is also very high. 

A list of cyclone names exhausted last year with Cyclone Amphan. This list was prepared in 2004. In 2018, the global weather network also admitted five more nations. A new list was released on April 28, 2020. So far, four names have already been used. These are – Nisarga, Gati, Nivar and Burevi. Tauktae is the fifth name on the list.

What will be the Name of the Next Cyclone?

The next cyclone will be called 'Yaas', a name was given by Oman. After that, cyclone 'Gulab' will make landfall in the region. Pakistan has suggested cyclone Gulab's name. As per the IMD, the cyclones that are likely to hit the region in the coming months include Shaheen (the name given by Qatar), Jawad (the name given by Saudi Arabia), Asani (a name suggested by Sri Lanka), Sitrang (a name suggested by Thailand), Mandous (a name suggested by UAE), and Mocha (a name suggested by Yemen). 

So We already Know the Name of the Next Cyclone? 

Yes, since the list has been made public, we know that the next cyclone would be named Yaas. It is a name that has been suggested by Oman.

For timely updates related to your query on  Polity, International Polity, Indian Polity, GK, Trending Topics, Govt Job, UPSC, APSC - like us on Facebook or join our telegram channel & Subscribe our channel on Youtube. To Read more visit World_Polity. Thank You. 

Post a Comment